Our Approach

Our Approach

Why a Trilingual Civil Code?
The Translation

Why a Trilingual Civil Code?

A trilingual edition of the French Civil Code is unprecedented. For the first time, this universal reference for continental law is accessible in both English and Arabic. This publication also serves as a gateway to the civil law for common law practitioners, thanks to its selected terminology and its introductory notes .

Current as of 1 July 2019, this edition of the trilingual Civil Code provides legal experts from around the world with the latest advances in the French Civil Code, such as the reforms in contract law.

The very first French-English-Arabic edition of the French Civil Code is the result of a twofold approach that we have taken to improve exchanges between English-speaking, Arab-speaking and French-speaking jurists.

First, it results from an academic choice. Core branches of civil law are presented in the form of introductory notes written by leading specialists. The provisions of the Civil Code and accompanying comments are up to date as of 1 July 2019. juillet 2019.

Secondly, this volume is the product of an editorial policy shaped by the terms chosen to represent French law. In accordance with the technique adopted in an increasing number of translations of French law, this Civil Code uses continental law terminology that relays the spirit of civil law and allows common law practitioners to master its specificities.

The trilingual Civil Code is:

  • The first book to give access to the entire French Civil Code in English and Arabic.
  • A guide including 10 introductory notes in both English and Arabic distributed between provisions of the Civil Code.
  • Conceived and produced by academics, whose aim is to introduce the French Civil Code to non-French-speaking readers with no prior background in the continental legal tradition.

The Translation

When there were two possible English translations of a French civil law notion, the term that any civil lawyer would recognise most easily, whether visually or aurally, and whether he speaks Italian, Spanish or Portuguese, was chosen.

For example:

  • The translation of “obligation solidaire” by "joint and several obligations" has been dismissed, in favour of "solidary obligation" considered closer to the Italian "obbligazione solidale", the Spanish "obligación solidaria", and the Portuguese "obrigação solidária".
  • The translators chose not to translate “fiducie” by "trust", opting instead for "fiducia", familiar to legal historians.
  • For the same reasons, the choice of the English translation of “compensation” fell on "compensation" rather than "set-off" .

However, this visual and aural choice did not always result in favouring Louisianan terminology over words familiar to a common lawyer .

For example, the translators considered the French “hypothèque” to be a "hypothec" and not a "mortgage". Whereas the term "hypothec" is preferred in Jersey and Scotland, “hypothèque” translates as "mortgage" in Louisiana (Art. 3278 Louisiana Civil Code).

The English translation strategy applied to this work should therefore be clearly explained. This approach is essential for any legal translator who is used to the idea that « le mot juste n’est pas juste un mot » (the right word is not just a word).

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Notre démarche

Notre démarche

Pourquoi un Code civil trilingue ?
La traduction

Pourquoi un Code civil trilingue ?

Le Code civil français trilingue est une innovation. Pour la première fois, cette référence universelle du droit continental sera accessible en anglais et en arabe. À travers ses termes choisis et ses notices introductives, ce code sera aussi une passerelle pour une meilleure compréhension du droit civil par les juristes de common law.

À jour au 1er juillet 2019, cette édition du Code civil français trilingue français-anglais-arabe met à disposition des juristes du monde entier les dernières avancées du Code civil français comme la réforme du droit des contrats.

La première édition français-anglais-arabe du Code civil français est l’aboutissement d’une double réflexion menée afin d’améliorer les échanges juridiques entre les anglophones, les arabophones et les francophones.

En premier lieu, elle résulte d’un choix scientifique. L’essentiel des branches du droit civil est présenté sous la forme de notes introductives rédigées par les meilleurs spécialistes. Les dispositions du Code civil ainsi que les commentaires d’accompagnement sont à jour au 1er juillet 2019.

En second lieu, cet ouvrage est le produit d’une ligne éditoriale qui se dessine dans les termes choisis pour représenter le droit français. Conformément à une stratégie à l’œuvre dans un nombre croissant de traductions du droit français, cet ouvrage s’appuie sur une terminologie du droit continental qui relaie l’esprit du droit civil et permet aux juristes de common law d’en maitriser les spécificités.

Le Code civil trilingue est :

  • Le premier ouvrage qui donne accès à l’intégralité du Code civil français en langues française, anglaise, et arabe.
  • Un guide formé par dix notices introductives, elles aussi traduites en anglais et en arabe, qui s’intercalent entre les dispositions du Code.
  • Conçu et réalisé par des auteurs universitaires ayant pour but d’introduire le lecteur non francophone ou non issu d’une tradition juridique continentale au Code civil français.

La traduction

Lorsqu’une notion juridique du droit civil français pouvait être traduite de deux façons différentes en langue anglaise, le choix s’est porté en faveur du mot qui était le plus facilement reconnaissable visuellement ou phonétiquement par n’importe quel civiliste de langue italienne, espagnole, portugaise, etc.

Par exemple :

  • La traduction de l’obligation solidaire par le vocable joint and several obligation a été écartée par les traducteurs, en faveur de celui de solidary obligation, jugé plus proche de l’obbligazione solidale des Italiens, de l’obligación solidaria espagnole, ou encore de l’obrigação solidária en portugais.
  • Les traducteurs louisianais ont choisi de ne pas traduire la fiducie par trust, préférant le terme fiducia, connu par les historiens du droit.
  • Pour les mêmes raisons, le choix de la traduction anglaise de la notion de « compensation » s’est porté sur compensation plutôt que sur set-off.

Mais ce choix visuel et sonore n’a pas toujours conduit à retenir une terminologie louisianaise et à écarter des mots connus d’un common lawyer.

Par exemple, les traducteurs louisianais ont vu dans l’hypothèque française une hypothec et non un mortgage. Tandis que le mot hypothec est prisé à Jersey et en Écosse, c’est le mortgage qui, au contraire, tient lieu d’hypothèque en Louisiane (art. 3278, C. civ. louisianais).

Le présent ouvrage est donc le produit d’une stratégie de traduction vers l’anglais à propos de laquelle il convient d’être transparent. Cette démarche s’impose à tout traducteur juridique, habitué à l’idée selon laquelle « le mot juste n’est pas juste un mot ».

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais