It is by joining forces that LexisNexis, leading legal publisher in France and around the world, and Sader Publishing, the oldest and most prestigious legal publisher in the Arab world, have successfully published a trilingual version (French - English - Arabic) of the French Civil Code.

More than 200 years after its first edition, the Civil Code continues to have a global reach. It remains the point of reference for many codified and non-codified texts around the world.

Accessing the most updated version of the French Civil Code that incorporates the recent reform of the law of obligations, should prove to be particularly useful to many legislators, academics, researchers, students and practitioners around the world. To make sure that language is no barrier, LexisNexis and Sader Publishing have taken the initiative to combine in one book, an English and Arabic translation of the entire French Civil Code in order to make the concepts accessible to as many people as possible – especially common law trained lawyers. Each section of the Civil Code is preceded by an explanatory note, written by a renowned professor.

This trilingual publication is unique and therefore, has no equivalent on the market. We’ve priced it at 49€ to make it affordable to all.

This Code is part of LexisNexis' desire to share the civil law tradition with lawyers from around the world and contribute to advancing the Rule of Law globally.

“This publication will make the Civil Code accessible to and serve as a reference and invaluable resource for students and practitioners of law in the MENA region and other non-French speaking jurisdictions whose legal systems are based on the Civil Code, not to mention those from a Common Law background.”

Salloum & Partners LLC (United Arab Emirates)

“Giving new life [to the Civil Code] in English and Arabic is a wonderful project that facilitates intercultural dialogue and the understanding of the rules of French law by other law schools.”

Cabinet Schell (France)

“Lebanese law has been and still is influenced by French legal perceptions. In most cases, whenever a law is not clear enough, the Arabic speaking student must go back to the French version of the laws in which it was originally drafted to understand the meaning sought by the legislator.”

Holy Spirit University of Kaslik (Lebanon)

“This unique LexisNexis publication of the French Civil Code in French, English and Arabic is a testament to our strong belief in cross-border and cultural cooperation in legal practice.”

Al-Yaqout & Al-Fouzan Legal Group (Kuwait)

“Legal translation is a skill that relies on a complex balance involving various languages for an audience whose legal culture is often different.”

Civil Law Foundation (France)

« [La publication de ce code] témoigne d’un vif intérêt pour le développement du Rule of Law et la diffusion des savoirs juridiques à travers le monde. »

Burhan Almarifa (Saudi Arabia)

Slider

C’est en réunissant leurs forces que LexisNexis, éditeur juridique de référence en France et dans le monde, et Sader Publishing, le plus ancien et prestigieux éditeur juridique du monde arabe, ont réussi à mener à terme ce formidable projet de Code civil trilingue, français, anglais et arabe.

Plus de 200 ans après sa première publication, le Code civil continue de rayonner au-delà des frontières françaises. Il reste le point d’appui de nombreux textes codifiés ou non-codifiés dans le monde.

Accéder au Code civil français, dans sa version la plus récente, celle notamment intégrant la réforme des obligations, est donc particulièrement utile pour de nombreux législateurs, universitaires, chercheurs, étudiants et praticiens à travers le monde. Pour que la langue ne soit pas une barrière, LexisNexis et Sader Publishing ont pris l’initiative de réunir dans un seul ouvrage une traduction anglaise et arabe de l’intégralité du Code civil français. Pour que les concepts soient abordables par le plus grand nombre – et également aux juristes de Common Law – chaque section du Code civil est précédée d’une notice explicative, rédigée par un universitaire de renom.

Cette œuvre trilingue est inédite et donc sans équivalent. Nous avons aussi souhaité, avec nos partenaires, que son prix (49€), ne soit pas un obstacle à son acquisition.

Ainsi, ce Code s’inscrit dans la volonté de LexisNexis de diffuser la culture civiliste auprès des juristes du monde entier et d’encourager internationalement la promotion du Rule of Law.

« Cette publication rendra le Code civil accessible aux étudiants et aux juristes de la région MENA et d’autres juridictions non francophones dont le système juridique se fonde sur le Code civil, sans oublier ceux issus de la Common Law, et leur servira de référence et de ressource inestimable. »

Salloum & Partners LLC (Emirats arabes unis)

« Donner une nouvelle vie [au Code civil français] en langues anglaise et arabe est un magnifique projet qui facilite le dialogue interculturel et la compréhension des règles du droit français par les autres écoles de droit. »

Cabinet Schell (France)

« Le droit libanais a toujours été influencé par les perceptions juridiques françaises, et l’est encore à l’heure actuelle. La plupart du temps, lorsqu’une loi n’est pas suffisamment claire, l’étudiant arabophone doit se référer à la version française des lois desquelles elle s’est inspirée à l’origine pour comprendre le sens recherché par le législateur. »

L’Université Saint-Esprit de Kaslik (Liban)

« Cette publication unique par LexisNexis du Code civil français en français, en anglais et en arabe témoigne d’une grande foi en la coopération transfrontalière et culturelle dans l’exercice du droit. »

Al-Yaqout & Al-Fouzan Legal Group (Koweït)

« La traduction juridique est un art difficile qui repose sur un équilibre complexe mettant en jeu diverses langues pour un public dont la culture juridique est souvent différente. »

La Fondation pour le droit continental (France)

« [La publication de ce code] témoigne d’un vif intérêt pour le développement du Rule of Law et la diffusion des savoirs juridiques à travers le monde. »

Burhan Almarifa (Arabie Saoudite)

Slider